21 December 2017

45th EARIE Annual Conference

31 August - 2 September 2018 | Athens, Greece

EARIE 2018

Invitation & Call for Papers

www.earie2018.org | earie2018.earie.org

The Athens University of Economics and Business is organizing the 45th Annual Conference of the European Association for Research in Industrial Economics, in collaboration with the Foundation for Economic and Industrial Research. We look forward to welcoming you to Athens for EARIE 2018. The conference will take place 31 August - 2 September 2018.

EARIE Annual Conference

The EARIE Annual Conference provides a yearly platform for delegates and members to present and discuss the latest research in Industrial Economics. The conference attracts more than 400 participants each year from Europe and other parts of the world. EARIE 2018 will take place at the campus of the Athens College, at Psychico, north of the center of Athens.


Athens is the capital and largest city of Greece. With a history spanning over 3,400 years, Athens is one of the world's oldest cities. A center for the arts, learning and philosophy, as well as a great political power in the ancient world, Athens is widely regarded as the "cradle of Western civilization" and the "birthplace of democracy", reflecting the cultural and political impact of Classical Greece on the modern West. Today, Athens is one of the largest cosmopolitan metropoles in Europe and central to the economic, political and cultural life in Greece.

Submission Details

All interested researchers are invited to submit their papers for potential presentation at EARIE 2018, starting from 1 February 2018 until 15 March 2018. For paper submission details and the link, visit the EARIE 2018 website www.earie2018.org | earie2018.earie.org (detailed submission guidelines will soon be available on the EARIE 2018 paper submission webpage).

Note: EARIE 2018 paper submissions must be uploaded online as Portable Document Format (PDF) files, using the dedicated link on the conference website only - no other file formats or delivery modes will be considered.

Decision notifications of paper acceptances for EARIE 2018 will be delivered via e-mail by 2 May 2018.

Conference Programme

The EARIE 2018 conference programme will consist of contributed and invited sessions. The EARIE 2018 Scientific Committee is chaired by Paul Heidhues (DICE, Heinrich-Heine-University Düsseldorf).

We are pleased to announce the keynote speakers for EARIE 2018:

  • Peter Neary (University of Oxford)
  • Aviv Nevo (University of Pennsylvania)
  • Xavier Vives (IESE Business School; EARIE President)

The following speakers have agreed to host invited sessions: Yair Antler (University of Essex) and Mo Xiao (University of Arizona) on the Behavioral Economics of Firms; Jason Abaluck (Yale University) and Michael Grubb (Boston College) on Consumer Mistakes and Market Data; Ulrich Doraszelski (University of Pennsylvania) and Myrto Kalouptsidi (Harvard University) on Dynamic Oligopoly; Volker Nocke (University of California, Los Angeles) and Mathieu Parenti (Université Libre de Bruxelles) on Trade and IO; Fabian Herweg (University of Bayreuth) and Leslie Marx (Duke University) on Procurement and Antitrust; Maarten Janssen (University of Vienna) and Jidong Zhou (Yale University) on Switching Costs and Search.

Rising Stars sessions will highlight the best graduate student submissions. Selected papers will be discussed by invited session speakers or other senior researchers to provide valuable feedback for promising young scholars. We especially encourage submissions by students who will soon be going on the job market.

Note: If you wish to be considered for a Rising Stars session, please indicate this in the corresponding checkbox on the paper submission form.

Young Economists' Essay Awards

The EARIE Young Economists' Essay Awards (YEEAs) are intended to encourage young researchers to participate in the EARIE Conference. The awards are aimed at exceptionally innovative and high-level papers written by researchers who: (a) are under the age of 35 and (b) have completed their PhD less than 5 years ago. For papers with multiple authors, each author should satisfy both criteria (a) and (b). Each year, the YEEA for the paper that makes the most significant policy contribution is dedicated to the late Paul Geroski; this year will be the 13th time that EARIE bestows this award in Paul Geroski's memory. As of 2013, Elsevier has kindly sponsored the YEEA money prizes, for which EARIE is very grateful.

Note: If you wish your paper to be considered for a YEEA prize at EARIE 2018 Athens, please indicate this in the corresponding checkbox on the paper submission form.

Contact Information

For inquiries about the EARIE 2018 conference, please contact the Chair of the Local Organizing Committee, Nikos Vettas, and the conference secretariat at earie2018@aueb.gr.

For inquiries about EARIE 2018 paper submissions and the scientific programme, please contact the Chair of the Scientific Committee, Paul Heidhues, at earie2018@dice.hhu.de, or at heidhues@dice.uni-duesseldorf.de.

We would greatly appreciate it if you would pass this Invitation & Call for Papers on to other colleagues.

We are looking forward to seeing you at EARIE 2018 in Athens this summer!

With best regards,

EARIE 2018 Scientific Committee & EARIE 2018 Local Organizing Committee (LOC)

  • Paul Heidhues (EARIE 2018 Scientific Committee Chair)
  • Nikos Vettas (EARIE 2018 Local Organizing Committee Chair)
  • Christos Genakos (EARIE 2018 Local Organizing Committee)
  • Yannis Katsoulacos (EARIE 2018 Local Organizing Committee)
  • Helen Louri-Dendrinou (EARIE 2018 Local Organizing Committee)
  • Chrysovalantou Milliou (EARIE 2018 Local Organizing Committee)