Young economists’ essay awards 

The EARIE Conference is aiming to encourage and foster young researchers in Industrial Economics. The Young Economists’ Essay Awards (YEEA) support that aim by recognizing innovative, impressive work that is likely to have an impact. The awards are sponsored by Elsevier Publishers.


The criteria for the YEEA are that the author (or all authors of a multiple-authored paper) must be under 35 years old and have completed his or her PhD less than five years ago. Each year one of the YEEAs recognises work with a policy contribution and is dedicated to the late Paul Geroski. This year is the 13th time that EARIE bestows this award in Paul Geroski’s memory.


About 100 submissions were considered by a committee consisting of Alessandro Gavazza (London School of Economics), Paul Heidhues (Heinrich-Heine University Düsseldorf - DICE, Scientific Committee Chair), Jan De Loecker (KU Leuven), Volker Nocke (University of California, Los Angeles) and Xavier Vives (IESE Business School, EARIE President).


This year’s winners are (in alphabetical order):

  • Johannes Johnen (Université catholique de Louvain and CORE) for the paper
    “Dynamic Competition in Deceptive Markets”
  • Hugo Molina (École polytechnique) for the paper
    “Buyer Alliances in Vertically Related Markets”
  • Yuta Toyama (Northwestern University) for the paper
    “Incentives to Invest, Storable Permits, and Transaction Costs in Market-Based Environmental Regulation”
    [13th EARIE Paul Geroski Prize for the most significant policy contribution]


Important dates

Paper submission opens 1 February 2018

Paper submission closes 18 March 2018

Acceptance notification 2 May 2018

Early registration by 1 June 2018


For tips on moving around Athens click here.

The conference starts on Friday, August 31 at 13:00.

8 May 2018: The registration system is now open.

21 December 2017: Please click here for the EARIE 2018 Invitation & Call for Papers.


Conference secretariat

Ms Maria Kavvadia | IOBE

11 Tsami Karatasou, GR 117 42

Athens, Greece


T: +30 210 92 11 233