Keynote speakers 

Jakub Kastl is Professor of Economics at Princeton University, having also held a full-time position at Stanford University. He is a Research Associate of the National Bureau of Economic Research and a Research Fellow of the Center for Economic Policy Research. He is a member of the Editorial Board of the American Economic Journal: Microeconomics and an Associate Editor of the Journal of Political Economy. He has worked on many fields of industrial organization and financial economics. His current research focuses on applying tools from industrial organization to financial markets.

Peter Neary is Professor of Economics at the University of Oxford and a Professorial Fellow of Merton College Oxford. He has held full-time positions at Trinity College Dublin and at University College Dublin where he was Professor of Political Economy. He is currently President of the Royal Economic Society and a Research Fellow of the Centre for Economic Policy Research. His main research field is international trade theory, where he has worked on short- to long-run adjustment, the economics of resource-rich economies (especially the "Dutch Disease"), trade and industrial policy and the implications of imperfect competition (especially oligopoly) for trade and globalization, among other topics. He has also written on consumer theory (including rationing and index numbers), industrial organization (including the economics of research and development) and macroeconomics (including international macro theory and Irish economic policy).

Xavier Vives is Professor of Economics and Finance at IESE Business School. He has held full-time positions at the University of Pennsylvania, Harvard, INSEAD and at the Institut d'Anàlisi Econòmica, CSIC. He is currently the President of EARIE, a Research Fellow of CESifo, a Research Fellow of the Center for Economic Policy Research, a Fellow of the Econometric Society and of the European Economic Association, and a Research Associate of the European Corporate Governance Institute. He was Special Advisor to the Vice-President of the European Commission and Commissioner for Competition. His fields of interest are industrial organization and regulation, the economics of information, and banking and financial economics. He has worked on dynamic rivalry, innovation and competition, banking crisis and regulation, information and financial markets and competition policy, among other areas. His last book is "Competition and Stability in Banking". He is editor of the Journal of Economic Theory.

Important dates

Paper submission opens 1 February 2018

Paper submission closes 18 March 2018

Acceptance notification 2 May 2018

Early registration by 1 June 2018


For tips on moving around Athens click here.

The conference starts on Friday, August 31 at 13:00.

8 May 2018: The registration system is now open.

21 December 2017: Please click here for the EARIE 2018 Invitation & Call for Papers.


Conference secretariat

Ms Maria Kavvadia | IOBE

11 Tsami Karatasou, GR 117 42

Athens, Greece


T: +30 210 92 11 233